The Jean-François Prat Prize was awarded on Tuesday 25 March 2014 to Zander Blom. The artist, who lives in Johannesburg and who is represented by the Stevenson gallery in Johannesburg and Cape Town, follows on from Farah Atassi who won the prize in 2012 and Matt Saunders who won in 2013.

This contemporary art prize, created three years ago by the partners of the law firm Bredin Prat which Jean-François Prat co-founded, supports young artists, whether French or of any other nationality.

The third edition was chaired by Christian Langlois-Meurinne, President of the IDI Group and President of the Society of Friends of the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, who presented the Prize to Zander Blom at a reception held at the offices of Bredin Prat, with many guests, friends, artists, clients and art collectors present, all having come together to honour the memory of Jean-François Prat.

In congratulating the winner, Christian Langlois-Meurinne spoke of the three shortlisted artists, Zander Blom, Stelios Faitakis and Rezi Van Lankveld: “the three artists shortlisted this year come from South Africa, Greece and the Netherlands. They exhibit works of great depth through the ideas conveyed and of great passion in their creation. They confirm the extreme vigour of contemporary painting.”

The Prize consists of an award of €20,000 for the winner and €2,000 for each of the other two shortlisted artists, as well as publication of a catalogue presenting the work of the three selected artists and a two-month exhibition of a selection of their paintings in the firm’s offices.

Besides the firm’s 42 partners and Christian Langlois Meurinne, the jury was made up of the members of the Prize’s committee of art experts: Marie-Aline Prat, who has a doctorate in history of art; Juliette Laffon, senior curator emerita in modern and contemporary art; Frédéric Brière, art collector and author of Le Guide de l’Artiste, and Frédéric Bonnet, art critic and curator.The persons presenting the artists were: Judicaël Lavrador, art critic, independent curator and journalist at Les Inrockuptibles and Beaux Arts magazine for Zander Blom; Anissa Touati, independent curator for Stelios Faitakis; Alain Cueff, art historian, independent curator, professor at the École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs in Paris for Rezi Van Lankveld.Third edition of the Jean-François Prat contemporary art prize 

Winning artist: ZANDER BLOM